Posted by: crisdiaz24 | April 24, 2011

QUICK TEST UNIT 1 NEW ENGLISH FILE ADVANCED

GRAMMAR

Tick (√) A, B, or C to complete the sentences.

Example: It was raining, ________ I took my umbrella.

A  because          B  so   √ C  so that

1   I enjoy good food. ________, I’m not a very good cook.

A  However          B  Owing to          C  Consequently

2   I moved to New York City ________ improve my English.

A  as a result to          B  in order to          C  because

3   I lost my key. ________, I couldn’t get into my flat.

A  As a result           B  Nevertheless          C  Yet

4   The class was cancelled ________ the teacher was ill.

A due to          B so          C because

5   ________ the rain, the concert continued.

A  In spite of          B  In case of          C  Even though

6   You were late for the interview. ________ you won’t be considered for the job.

A Even though          B However          C Consequently

7   He can’t go to the conference in the USA ________ he hasn’t got a visa.

A  since          B  so          C  but

8   I ________ my hair cut tomorrow afternoon.

A  ’m having          B  have to          C  had

9   He ________ his car stolen when he left the keys in it.

A  had          B  ’s got          C  has

10   I never ________ lunch in the office.

A  has          B  have got          C  have

11 You ________ an uncle in France, don’t you?

A  have to          B  got          C  have

12   My parents ________ been living in Portugal for six years.

A  were          B  have          C  don’t

13   What time do you ________ be at work?

A  got to          B  have to          C  have

14   How many DVDs ________? I’ve never seen so many.

A  have you got          B  have you          C  you have

15   ________ always say you have to learn some things yourself.

A  They          B  One          C  Myself

16   You can learn to play the guitar if ________ practise a lot.

A  they          B  one          C  you

17   Someone left ________ card in the cash machine.

A  one’s          B  their          C  they

18   I wrote this song ________.

A  myself          B  yourself          C  ourselves

19   Do you often go to the cinema ________?

A  by myself          B  by yourself          C  ourselves

20   I’m afraid my boss and I don’t understand ________ very well.

A  oneself          B  one another          C  another

20

VOCABULARY

a   Tick (√) the correct word A, B, or C.

Example: doing the same thing over and over

A  rewarding          B  repetitive  √ C  demanding

1   difficult at times

A  challenging          B  monotonous          C  motivating

2   a person or organization that provides jobs

A  an employer          B  an employee          C  staff

3   money paid for doing a job

A  benefits          B  bonus          C  wage

4   good pay for a job

A  staff turnover          B  a competitive salary          C  work-life balance

5   to write down

A  conduct          B  transcribe          C  adhere to

6   to leave out

A  omit          B  remain          C  require

b   Tick (√) A, B, or C to complete the sentences about family.

Example: My uncle and cousins are ________. They spend a lot of time together.

A  close  √ B  distant          C  near

7   My sister, Jenny, and I get on very well. We have a very good ______.

A  relations          B  relation          C  relationship

8   Sue’s parents ______ in Prague.

A  grew up          B  brought up          C  was grown

9   My brother is the black ________ of the family.

A  skeleton          B  sheep          C  trousers

10   James and I don’t ________ eye to eye about a lot of things.

A  see          B  speak          C  get

11   My cousin and I don’t ________ each other. We haven’t been on speaking terms for a long time.

A  get on          B  have the same opinions as          C  speak to

12   My ________ has the same mother as I have, but a different father.

A  stepfather          B  stepbrother          C  half-brother

c   Tick (√) A, B, or C to complete the sentences.

Example: I’m in charge ________ the marketing department.

A  on          B  of  √C  to

13   Last year, I was promoted ________ area manager.

A  to          B  up          C  in

14   I was out ________ work all last year, but I have a job now.

A  in          B  to          C  of

15   I ________ my own mind. I want to be a company president in five years.

A  have          B  know          C  am

16   I left my comfort ________ when I took this job. It’s very challenging, but I love it.

A  place          B  zone          C  time

17   When I make a decision, I ________ with my gut feeling.

A  go          B  feel          C  put

18   Michael is a great manager because he ________ problems head on.

A  plans          B  catches          C  faces

19   ________ words are very informal and usually used in spoken language.

A  Colloquial          B  Collocation          C  Register

20   ________ is a word that means the same thing, or nearly the same thing, as another word.

A  An idiom          B  A synonym          C  A metaphor

20

PRONUNCIATION

a   Which word has a different sound? Tick (√) A, B, or C.

Example:    A  skill          B  fired  √C  sister

1   A  profession          B  staff          C  sheep

2   A  wages          B  gritting          C  register

3   A  sense          B  zone          C  guns

4   A  caught          B  stick          C  challenging

5   A  teeth          B  tedious          C  career

b   Which is the correctly stressed syllable? Tick (√) A, B, or C.

Example:    A  monotonous          B  monotonous  √ C  monotonous

6   A  opportunities          B  opportunities          C  opportunities

7   A  collocation          B  collocation          C  collocation

8   A  dominant          B  dominant          C  dominant

9   A  metaphor          B  metaphor          C  metaphor

10   A  environment          B  environment          C  environment

10

KEY

GRAMMAR

Tick (√) A, B, or C to complete the sentences.

Example: It was raining, ________ I took my umbrella.

A  because          B  so   √ C  so that

1   I enjoy good food. ________, I’m not a very good cook.

A  However   x       B  Owing to          C  Consequently

2   I moved to New York City ________ improve my English.

A  as a result to          B  in order to   x       C  because

3   I lost my key. ________, I couldn’t get into my flat.

A  As a result     x      B  Nevertheless          C  Yet

4   The class was cancelled ________ the teacher was ill.

A due to          B so          C because     x

5   ________ the rain, the concert continued.

A  In spite of     x     B  In case of          C  Even though

6   You were late for the interview. ________ you won’t be considered for the job.

A Even though          B However          C Consequently    x

7   He can’t go to the conference in the USA ________ he hasn’t got a visa.

A since    x      B  so          C  but

8   I ________ my hair cut tomorrow afternoon.

A ’m having    x      B  have to          C  had

9   He ________ his car stolen when he left the keys in it.

A  had    x      B  ’s got          C  has

10   I never ________ lunch in the office.

A  has          B  have got          C  have     x

11 You ________ an uncle in France, don’t you?

A  have to          B  got          C  have    x

12   My parents ________ been living in Portugal for six years.

A  were          B  have   x       C  don’t

13   What time do you ________ be at work?

A  got to          B  have to     x     C  have

14   How many DVDs ________? I’ve never seen so many.

A  have you got    x      B  have you          C  you have

15   ________ always say you have to learn some things yourself.

A  They    x      B  One          C  Myself

16   You can learn to play the guitar if ________ practise a lot.

A  they          B  one          C  you    x

17   Someone left ________ card in the cash machine.

A  one’s          B  their     x     C  they

18   I wrote this song ________.

A  myself   x       B  yourself          C  ourselves

19   Do you often go to the cinema ________?

A  by myself          B  by yourself    x      C  ourselves

20   I’m afraid my boss and I don’t understand ________ very well.

A  oneself          B  one another    x      C  another

20

VOCABULARY

a   Tick (√) the correct word A, B, or C.

Example: doing the same thing over and over

A  rewarding          B  repetitive  √     C  demanding

1   difficult at times

A  challenging    x      B  monotonous          C  motivating

2   a person or organization that provides jobs

A  an employer   x       B  an employee          C  staff

3   money paid for doing a job

A  benefits          B  bonus          C  wage    x

4   good pay for a job

A  staff turnover          B  a competitive salary    x      C  work-life balance

5   to write down

A  conduct          B  transcribe   x       C  adhere to

6   to leave out

A  omit    x      B  remain          C  require

b   Tick (√) A, B, or C to complete the sentences about family.

Example: My uncle and cousins are ________. They spend a lot of time together.

A  close  √     B  distant          C  near

7   My sister, Jenny, and I get on very well. We have a very good ______.

A  relations          B  relation          C  relationship    x

8   Sue’s parents ______ in Prague.

A  grew up    x      B  brought up          C  was grown

9   My brother is the black ________ of the family.

A  skeleton          B  sheep   x       C  trousers

10   James and I don’t ________ eye to eye about a lot of things.

A  see    x      B  speak          C  get

11   My cousin and I don’t ________ each other. We haven’t been on speaking terms for a long time.

A  get on          B  have the same opinions as          C  speak to     x

12   My ________ has the same mother as I have, but a different father.

A  stepfather          B  stepbrother          C  half-brother     x

c   Tick (√) A, B, or C to complete the sentences.

Example: I’m in charge ________ the marketing department.

A  on          B  of  √     C  to

13   Last year, I was promoted ________ area manager.

A  to     x     B  up          C  in

14   I was out ________ work all last year, but I have a job now.

A  in          B  to          C  of    x

15   I ________ my own mind. I want to be a company president in five years.

A  have          B  know    x      C  am

16   I left my comfort ________ when I took this job. It’s very challenging, but I love it.

A  place          B  zone    x      C  time

17   When I make a decision, I ________ with my gut feeling.

A  go   x       B  feel          C  put

18   Michael is a great manager because he ________ problems head on.

A  plans          B  catches          C  faces   x

19   ________ words are very informal and usually used in spoken language.

A  Colloquial    x      B  Collocation          C  Register

20   ________ is a word that means the same thing, or nearly the same thing, as another word.

A  An idiom          B  A synonym   x       C  A metaphor

20

PRONUNCIATION

a   Which word has a different sound? Tick (√) A, B, or C.

Example:    A  skill          B  fired  √ C  sister

1   A  profession          B  staff   x       C  sheep

2   A  wages          B  gritting     x     C  register

3   A  sense    x      B  zone          C  guns

4   A  caught          B  stick          C  challenging   x

5   A  teeth          B  tedious          C  career    x

b   Which is the correctly stressed syllable? Tick (√) A, B, or C.

Example:    A  monotonous          B  monotonous  √     C  monotonous

6   A  opportunities          B  opportunities   x       C  opportunities

7   A  collocation   x       B  collocation          C  collocation

8   A  dominant   x       B  dominant          C  dominant

9   A  metaphor          B  metaphor          C  metaphor     x

10   A  environment    x      B  environment          C  environment

10
Grammar, Vocabulary, and Pronunciation total 50
Responses

  1. Cristina:

    Thanks a lot!!!
    Could you please send me back the keys?

    Richard

    Like

  2. thanks

    Like

  3. thank you so much for posting this!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

