Posted by: crisdiaz24 | April 16, 2012

USED TO, TO BE USED TO, TO GET USED TO

USED TO, TO BE USED TO, TO GET USED TO

Fill in the gaps with either USED TO, or the correct form of TO BE USED TO, TO GET USED TO + the verb, if necessary, in the appropriate form.

  1. When I was a child I ________________ (go) swimming in the lake.
  2. I _______________ (speak) in front of an audience. I am a teacher.
  3. As a father I _______________ (clean) up the mess my children make every evening.
  4. “Oh dear. I’ve never driven such a powerful car before”. “Don’t worry, you’ll soon _______________ it.
  5. “Don’t you play tennis?” “Oh, I ________________ , but I haven’t practised for ages.”
  6. When I was in the army I _______________ (get) up at six every morning.
  7. “Why did you give up your job just after the new boss took over?” “I just _______________ (work) under so much pressure.”
  8. My grandmother _______________ (walk) five miles to go to church on Sundays.
  9. “It must be really hard to get up at five every morning.” “Oh, not really. I _______________ it by now.”
  10. I _______________ (read) the paper after lunch. That’s one of the things I really enjoy.
  11. In Spain you will soon _______________ (take) a siesta in the afternoon.
  12. “I hear Roger was really shocked when he first started work for the murder squad.” “Yes, but he _______________ the job in the end.”
  13. On holiday in Finland my wife _______________ (take) a sauna every day.
  14. “I thought you didn’t like opera.” “Well, I _______________ but I really enjoy it now.
  15. “I don’t think I’ll ever understand this new computer program!” “Well, there’s no rush. Give yourself a month to _______________ it.
  16. “Have you noticed how many people drink bottled mineral water these days?” “Strange, isn’t it? No-one ever _______________ when I was a lad.”
  17. “Did Gerry enjoy his time in the army?” “Not really. He never could _______________ (obey) orders.”

 

KEY

 

USED TO, TO BE USED TO, TO GET USED TO

Fill in the gaps with either USED TO, or the correct form of TO BE USED TO, TO GET USED TO + the verb, if necessary, in the appropriate form.

 

  1. When I was a child I USED TO GO (go) swimming in the lake.
  2. I AM USED TO SPEAKING (speak) in front of an audience. I am a teacher.
  3. As a father I AM USED TO CLEANING (clean) up the mess my children make every evening.
  4. “Oh dear. I’ve never driven such a powerful car before”. “Don’t worry, you’ll soon GET USED TO it.
  5. “Don’t you play tennis?” “Oh, I USED TO , but I haven’t practised for ages.”
  6. When I was in the army I USED TO (get) up at six every morning.
  7. “Why did you give up your job just after the new boss took over?” “I just WASN’T USED TO WORKING (work) under so much pressure.”
  8. My grandmother USED TO WALK (walk) five miles to go to church on Sundays.
  9. “It must be really hard to get up at five every morning.” “Oh, not really. I AM USED TO it by now.”
  10. I AM USED TO READING (read) the paper after lunch. That’s one of the things I really enjoy.
  11. In Spain you will soon GET USED TO TAKING (take) a siesta in the afternoon.
  12. “I hear Roger was really shocked when he first started work for the murder squad.” “Yes, but he GOT USED TO the job in the end.”
  13. On holiday in Finland my wife USED TO TAKE (take) a sauna every day.
  14. “I thought you didn’t like opera.” “Well, I DIDN’T USE TO but I really enjoy it now.
  15. “I don’t think I’ll ever understand this new computer program!” “Well, there’s no rush. Give yourself a month to GET USED TO it.
  16. “Have you noticed how many people drink bottled mineral water these days?” “Strange, isn’t it? No-one ever USED TO when I was a lad.”
  17. “Did Gerry enjoy his time in the army?” “Not really. He never could GET USED TO OBEYING (obey) orders.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

