Posted by: crisdiaz24 | October 15, 2008

SIMPLE AND CONTINUOUS TENSES

SIMPLE AND CONTINUOUS FORMS

 

Read the following email and put the verbs in the correct form.

 

Hi Jess,

 

How are you? I ________________ (try) to ring you all evening, but no reply. I wanted to say goodbye as I ________________ (leave) London tomorrow for a new life in Brazil! Yes, this is a major life change for me. But my job ________________ (get) more and more stressful recently, and I ________________ (feel) the need for a change of scene for some time now. Then, just before Christmas, I ________________ (surf) the internet when I ________________ (come) across an advertisement for a locum doctor in Brazil. So, to cut a long story short, I ________________ (apply) and they ________________ (offer) me the job.

It’s hard to believe that this time tomorrow I ________________ (sit) on a plane on my way to another continent. I must admit I ________________ (feel) a little apprehensive right now, but I ________________ (know) it’s the right thing to do.

Sorry not to be able to say goodbye properly, but if you get this email, give me a ring on my mobile – my plane ________________ (leave) at 4.00 tomorrow afternoon so you can catch me any time before that.

 

Lots of love

 

 

Emma

 

Locum: (BrE) a doctor who does the work of another doctor while they are sick, on holiday, etc. Suplente.

Leave a Reply

Categories

