Posted by: crisdiaz24 | December 15, 2008

EXERCISE ON REPORTING VERBS

REPORTING VERBS

Report each of these statements, using an appropriate verb from the following list.

Accuse, apologise, blame, admit, consider, congratulate, encourage, reassure, recommend, refuse, regret, remind (2), suggest, warn, volunteer, invite,

 

1.            My wife: “Don’t worry about the arrangements for the reception. They are all under control.

My wife reassured me that the arrangements for the reception were all under control.

2.            Geraldine: “I will not take part in the new play.”

               

3.            My best friend: “Don’t you ever discuss my problems behind my back again!”

               

4.            Pete: “You should think about going to the new Thai restaurant. It’s excellent.

               

5.            The department manager: “It was your fault that we lost the Siemens contract.”

               

6.            The disc jockey: “Oasis were definitely the best band of the nineties.”

               

7.            The fan: “I’m terribly sorry about confusing you with George Michael.”

               

8.            The police officer: “We believe that you have been making obscene phone calls to this office.”

               

9.            My friends: “Come on – you can take part in the competition with us. You are just as good as we are.”

               

10.          Mike’s brother: “I don’t mind organising the reception for Mike and Sarah’s wedding.”

               

11.          The team manager: “I feel terrible now about contradicting Julie in front of the whole team.”

               

12.          The director: “Let’s try this scene a different way, shall we?”

               

13.          My mother: “You had your tonsils taken out when you were about nine, remember?”

               

14.          John: “You are both more than welcome to spend the night at my house.

               

15.          Peter: “The news of your engagement is marvellous.”

               

16.          Sarah: “Ok, so it’s true. I did go out with Matthew for the evening.”

               

17.          My mother: “Whatever you do, do not forget to get your grandmother a birthday card.”

                

Responses

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read….

    Like

  2. I’ll upload the keys to both the reporting verbs and the video as soon as possible. Give me a couple of days and I’ll do it. Cristina

    Like

  3. […] EXERCISE ON REPORTING VERBS December 2008 2 comments 4 […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

