Posted by: crisdiaz24 | May 6, 2009

KEY TO TRANSLATION UNITS 6A AND 6B

TRANSLATION 6 A and 6 B

Estaba loco de alegría. El laboratorio para el que trabajaba acababa de hacer un avance importantísimo en la búsqueda de una nueva vacuna y me proponía festejarlo con una botella de champán.

I was mad with joy /happy as Larry / over the moon / really thrilled. The lab I was working for had just achieved / made a crucial / major breakthrough in the search for a new vaccine and I intended to celebrate with a bottle of champagne.

Me fui a Sainsbury’s, escogí la botella más cara y me dirigí a la caja.

I went to Sainsbury’s, chose the most expensive bottle and headed  for the checkout.

Estuve haciendo cola durante tanto tiempo que pensé que nunca iba a salir de allí. Mi entusiasmo se transformó en un arranque de ira.

I had been queuing for so long that i thought I’d never get out of there. My enthusiasm turned into an outburst of anger.

Por si fuera poco, en cuanto salí,  me vi atrapado en un repentino chaparrón que me caló hasta los huesos.

To make matters worse, / To top it all,  as soon as I got out, I got caught in a sudden downpour which soaked me to the skin / drenched me to the bones.

Me marché a casa tiritando de frío. Me desvestí y me puse una bata caliente.

I went home shivering with cold. I got undressed / took off my clothes and put on a warm gown / dressing gown.

No me sentía con fuerzas para cocinar así que acabé encargando comida por teléfono.

I did not feel strong enough to cook, so I ended up getting a takeaway.

A las 11 ya estaba en la cama. Tenía fiebre y pasé muy mala noche.

At 11 I was already in bed. I had a fever and had a very bad night.

A la mañana siguiente, tenía 40 de fiebre, me dolía la cabeza y moqueaba. Llamé a mi médico, que acudió 15 minutos más tarde. Me auscultó y me aconsejó beber mucha agua y tomar un analgésico cada 6 horas.

The following morning, I had run up a fever of 40◦, had a headache and a runny nose. I phoned my doctor who came fifteen minutes later. He listened to my chest and advised me / recommended me to drink a lot of water and to have a tablet every six hours.

Me dijo que no me preocupara. Se había producido un brote de gripe y era posible que tuviera que guardar cama siete días más.

He told me not to worry. There had been a flu outbreak and I was likely to spend another seven days in bed. / I might have to spend another seven days in bed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

