Posted by: crisdiaz24 | November 10, 2009

CONDITIONAL SENTENCES

FIRST CONDITIONAL

  1. What will you do if you pass all your exams next year?
  2. What will you do if you happen to meet an old boyfriend / girlfriend of yours at Christmas?
  3. What will you do if you happen to oversleep tomorrow?
  4. What will you do if you happen to be caught in a traffic jam and not be able to come to class on Monday / Tuesday?

SECOND CONDITIONAL

  1. What would happen if scientists were to find a cure for AIDS and cancer?
  2. Should Bin Laden be captured, what would happen?
  3. Were you to find out your boyfriend / girlfriend / husband / wife is cheating on you, what would you do?
  4. Were you to get an awful Christmas present from your mother-in-law, would you tell her how you felt about it?
  5. Were you to be called names in front of a large number of people, what would you do?

THIRD CONDITIONAL

  1. What would you have done if…
  • you hadn’t come here today?
  • You hadn’t decided to learn English?
  • You had had time this week?
  • You had been born a member of the opposite sex?
  • You had followed your parents’ advice?
  • You had won the lottery recently?
  • You had found 500 Euros on your way here today?
  • You had met an alien from outer space on your way here?
  • You had met your great-great-grandparents?
  • You had lived in the 19th Century

2. What would you have worn if you had been to a party yesterday evening?
3. What would your parents have done if you had been born a member of the opposite sex?
4. What would have happened if America had not been discovered yet?

I WISH

In pairs, work out who might have expressed the following wishes:

  • I wish I hadn’t cut my ear off.
  • We wish we had not kidnapped Ingrid Betancourt six years ago.
  • I wish I had not cheated on my wife at the White House.
  • I wish I had married Camilla instead.
  • I wish I hadn’t invaded Russia.
  • If only I hadn’t eaten that apple.
  • I wish I hadn’t trusted Brutus.
  • If only I hadn’t gone to Dallas.
  • I wish I had not spent 27 years in a South-African prison.
  • I wish I had seen that iceberg.
  • I wish I had not married Prince Charles.
  • I wish I hadn’t abdicated.
  • I wish I hadn’t flown so close to the sun.
  • I wish I hadn’t held the Spanish Parliament at gunpoint on 23 February 1981.
  • I wish I hadn’t discovered radium.
  • I wish I hadn’t gone down with Aids.
  • I wish I hadn’t given the order to drop the Atom bomb over Hiroshima.
  • I wish I hadn’t gone to that theatre that night.
  • I wish I had not sent the Armada to Britain.
  • I wish I hadn’t taken that drug overdose.
  • I wish I had not invented dynamite

Talk about:

  • A famous singer you wish you had seen in concert.
  • Something you wish the Town Council did to improve your town.
  • A foreign language you wish you could speak apart from English?
  • Something you wish a member of your family wouldn’t do?
  • Something you wish had never been discovered or invented.
  • A very expensive possession you wish you had.
  • A quality you wish you had.
  • A famous person you wish you could meet.
  • A sport you wish you were very good at.
  • An aspect of your personality you wish you could change.
  • Something you wish people in Spain wouldn’t do?
  • Something you wish you had learnt to do but still can’t do.
  • Something you wish you hadn’t bought.
  • Something you wish you hadn’t done this month.
  • The number of brothers or sisters you wish you had had.
  • When you wish you had been born.
  • A country you wish you had been born in.
  • What you wish Spanish television programmes were like?
  • Something you could say to an important person in politics.
  • The mistakes you made when you were young that you wish you hadn’t made.
Responses

  1. Great post – Just subscriped to your RSS feed.. Thanks|This is my first time I have visited this site. I found a lot of interesting information in your blog. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one! keep up the impressive work.

    pro gaming chair

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

