Posted by: crisdiaz24 | April 24, 2011

QUICK TEST UNIT 4 NEW ENGLISH FILE ADVANCED

GRAMMAR

Tick (√) A, B, or C to complete the sentences.

Example: A I saw Millie at the cinema the other night.
B ________ of the cinema, have you seen the new Bond film?

A  Saying          B  Talking  √      C  About

1   I think we should go out tonight. ________, it’s your birthday.

A  All above          B  After all          C  To sum up

2   ________ the whole, I think office workers have more back problems.

A  On          B  In          C  To

3   I lost my credit card, but ________ I was able to cancel it before anyone used it.

A  at least          B  in other words          C  I mean

4   OK, I’ll call Sergio. Oh, ________, do you think we should make a dinner reservation?

A  talking about          B  all in all          C  by the way

5   A  Did you see the news on TV last night?

B  No. ________, I don’t even own a television.

A  The fact          B  In fact          C  To fact

6   I wasn’t invited to the party. ________, I wouldn’t have gone. I’m too busy.

A  In any case          B  In case          C  That is to say

7   As I was ________, if you go on holiday next month, you’ll miss the meeting in Rome.

A  talking          B  telling          C  saying

8   As far as transport ________, you can rent a car at the airport and drive to the meeting.

A  is concerned          B  concerns          C  is the concern

9   If you had brought the map, we ________ lost.

A  will be          B  wouldn’t be          C  aren’t

10   Can we use your father’s holiday flat if he ________ there?

A  isn’t staying          B  isn’t stay          C  don’t staying

11   ________ you feel if Helena didn’t phone you?

A  How do          B  What do          C  How would

12   Had I known I was going to win the lottery, I ________ stopped working sooner!

A  would have          B  had          C  ’m

13   If we ________ more money, we could buy a bigger house.

A  would have had          B  had          C  have

14   Will you please let me ________ what I am saying?

A  finish          B  finishing          C  to finish

15   We expect my aunt Laurie ________ next April.

A  visits          B  to visit          C  visiting

16   I advise you ________ to your teacher about the problems you’re having.

A  would talk          B  should talk          C  to talk

17   I ________ to think you don’t like the book I wrote.

A  ’d hate          B  ’m hating          C  have hate

18   I remember my mother ________ me bedtime stories when I was a child.

A  read          B  reading          C  to read

19   If you ________ paying attention, you would have heard the announcement.

A  ’d been          B  ’re          C  would have been

20   We’ve ________ for a band to play until midnight.

A  persuaded          B  expected          C  arranged

20

VOCABULARY

a   Tick (√) A, B, or C to complete the sentences about history and warfare.

Example: The ________ shot from hidden positions and killed a lot of enemy soldiers.

A  shields          B  siege          C  snipers   √

1   After years of fighting the two leaders signed a peace ________.

A  surrender          B  treaty          C  defeat

2   You use a ______ to shoot an arrow.

A  bow          B  spear          C  missile

3   A ________ is a very large gun.

A  coup          B  cannon          C  sword

4   There was a ________ so that peace talks could be held.

A  survivor          B  ceasefire          C  revolution

5   All of the ________ were evacuated from the war zone, but the soldiers had to stay and fight.

A  forces          B  troops          C  civilians

6   ________ are people who must leave their homes because of a war.

A  Refugees          B  Casualties          C  Allies

7   The rebels stopped fighting and ________. The civil war was over!

A  defeated          B  surrendered          C  besieged

8   The bridge was ________ to stop the enemy from receiving supplies.

A  blown up          B  declared          C  overthrown

9   The soldiers ________ the museum and stole a lot of national treasures.

A  withdrew          B  retreated          C  looted

10   The soldiers ________ the enemy leader and put him in prison.

A  broke out          B  shelled          C  captured

b   Tick (√) A, B, or C to complete the sentences.

Example: When I’m away from the computer, I feel ________ and edgy.

A  harmless          B  tense  √     C  enormous

11   I’d rather see a film on ________ than on TV.

A  the big screen          B  film review          C  period films

12   I thought the most interesting character in the film was the ________.

A  premiere          B  plot          C  female lead

13   This is an original painting; it isn’t some ________-produced poster.

A  mass          B  first          C  hand

14   Mariah is ________ an expert on Scottish history.

A  entirely up to          B  a bit of          C  complete

15   I bought a ________-hand car last year for €2,000.

A  last          B  second          C  long

16   I’m afraid my parents are a bit narrow-________ about who I should marry.

A  made          B  minded          C  behaved

17   When I first got a computer I was ________ on surfing the Internet.

A  hooked          B  anxious          C  tense

18   Greg is seeking ________ for his sunbed dependency.

A  an enormous high          B  addiction          C  treatment

19   Mr Miyazaki was really helpful ________ me when I first arrived in Japan.

A  to          B  on          C  about

20   I’m not too keen ________ Internet dating.

A  of          B  for          C  on

20

PRONUNCIATION

a   Which word has a different sound? Tick (√) A, B, or C.

Example:    A  high  √     B  compulsive          C  addiction

1   A  edgy          B  gambling          C  siege

2   A  coup          B  loot          C  bow

3   A  dialogue          B  short-sighted          C  gun

4   A  capture          B  stick          C  challenging

5   A  through          B  arrow          C  overthrow

b   Which is the correctly stressed syllable? Tick (√) A, B, or C.

Example:    A  victorious          B  victorious   √     C  victorious

6   A  sequences          B  sequences          C  sequences

7   A  conditioned          B  conditioned          C  conditioned

8   A  overwhelmingly          B  overwhelmingly          C  overwhelmingly

9   A  compulsive          B  compulsive          C  compulsive

10   A  dependencies          B  dependencies          C  dependencies

10

KEY

GRAMMAR

Tick (√) A, B, or C to complete the sentences.

Example: A I saw Millie at the cinema the other night.
B ________ of the cinema, have you seen the new Bond film?

A  Saying          B  Talking   √     C  About

1   I think we should go out tonight. ________, it’s your birthday.

A  All above          B  After all          C  To sum up

2   ________ the whole, I think office workers have more back problems.

A  On          B  In          C  To

3   I lost my credit card, but ________ I was able to cancel it before anyone used it.

A  at least          B  in other words          C  I mean

4   OK, I’ll call Sergio. Oh, ________, do you think we should make a dinner reservation?

A  talking about          B  all in all          C  by the way

5   A  Did you see the news on TV last night?

B  No. ________, I don’t even own a television.

A  The fact          B  In fact          C  To fact

6   I wasn’t invited to the party. ________, I wouldn’t have gone. I’m too busy.

A  In any case          B  In case          C  That is to say

7   As I was ________, if you go on holiday next month, you’ll miss the meeting in Rome.

A  talking          B  telling          C  saying 

8   As far as transport ________, you can rent a car at the airport and drive to the meeting.

A  is concerned          B  concerns          C  is the concern

9   If you had brought the map, we ________ lost.

A  will be          B  wouldn’t be          C  aren’t

10   Can we use your father’s holiday flat if he ________ there?

A  isn’t staying          B  isn’t stay          C  don’t staying

11   ________ you feel if Helena didn’t phone you?

A  How do          B  What do          C  How would   

12   Had I known I was going to win the lottery, I ________ stopped working sooner!

A  would have          B  had          C  ’m

13   If we ________ more money, we could buy a bigger house.

A  would have had          B  had          C  have

14   Will you please let me ________ what I am saying?

A  finish          B  finishing          C  to finish

15   We expect my aunt Laurie ________ next April.

A  visits          B  to visit          C  visiting

16   I advise you ________ to your teacher about the problems you’re having.

A  would talk          B  should talk          C  to talk 

17   I ________ to think you don’t like the book I wrote.

A  ’d hate          B  ’m hating          C  have hate

18   I remember my mother ________ me bedtime stories when I was a child.

A  read          B  reading          C  to read

19   If you ________ paying attention, you would have heard the announcement.

A  ’d been          B  ’re          C  would have been

20   We’ve ________ for a band to play until midnight.

A  persuaded          B  expected          C  arranged   

20

VOCABULARY

a   Tick (√) A, B, or C to complete the sentences about history and warfare.

Example: The ________ shot from hidden positions and killed a lot of enemy soldiers.

A  shields          B  siege          C  snipers   √

1   After years of fighting the two leaders signed a peace ________.

A  surrender          B  treaty          C  defeat

2   You use a ______ to shoot an arrow.

A  bow          B  spear          C  missile

3   A ________ is a very large gun.

A  coup          B  cannon          C  sword

4   There was a ________ so that peace talks could be held.

A  survivor          B  ceasefire          C  revolution

5   All of the ________ were evacuated from the war zone, but the soldiers had to stay and fight.

A  forces          B  troops          C  civilians

6   ________ are people who must leave their homes because of a war.

A  Refugees          B  Casualties          C  Allies

7   The rebels stopped fighting and ________. The civil war was over!

A  defeated          B  surrendered          C  besieged

8   The bridge was ________ to stop the enemy from receiving supplies.

A  blown up          B  declared          C  overthrown

9   The soldiers ________ the museum and stole a lot of national treasures.

A  withdrew          B  retreated          C  looted

10   The soldiers ________ the enemy leader and put him in prison.

A  broke out          B  shelled          C  captured

b   Tick (√) A, B, or C to complete the sentences.

Example: When I’m away from the computer, I feel ________ and edgy.

A  harmless          B  tense   √     C  enormous

11   I’d rather see a film on ________ than on TV.

A  the big screen          B  film review          C  period films

12   I thought the most interesting character in the film was the ________.

A  premiere          B  plot          C  female lead

13   This is an original painting; it isn’t some ________-produced poster.

A  mass          B  first          C  hand

14   Mariah is ________ an expert on Scottish history.

A  entirely up to          B  a bit of          C  complete

15   I bought a ________-hand car last year for €2,000.

A  last          B  second          C  long

16   I’m afraid my parents are a bit narrow-________ about who I should marry.

A  made          B  minded          C  behaved

17   When I first got a computer I was ________ on surfing the Internet.

A  hooked          B  anxious          C  tense

18   Greg is seeking ________ for his sunbed dependency.

A  an enormous high          B  addiction          C  treatment 

19   Mr Miyazaki was really helpful ________ me when I first arrived in Japan.

A  to          B  on          C  about

20   I’m not too keen ________ Internet dating.

A  of          B  for          C  on

20

PRONUNCIATION

a   Which word has a different sound? Tick (√) A, B, or C.

Example:    A  high   √     B  compulsive          C  addiction

1   A  edgy          B  gambling          C  siege

2   A  coup          B  loot          C  bow 

3   A  dialogue          B  short-sighted          C  gun

4   A  capture          B  stick          C  challenging   

5   A  through          B  arrow          C  overthrow

b   Which is the correctly stressed syllable? Tick (√) A, B, or C.

Example:    A  victorious          B  victorious   √     C  victorious

6   A  sequences          sequences          C  sequences

7   A  conditioned          B  conditioned          C  conditioned

8   A  overwhelmingly          B  overwhelmingly          C  overwhelmingly

9   A  compulsive          B  compulsive          C  compulsive

10   A  dependencies          B  dependencies          C  dependencies 

10
Grammar, Vocabulary, and Pronunciation total 50
Leave a Reply

Categories

