Posted by: crisdiaz24 | March 20, 2012

EXERCISE ON +ING AND THE INFINITIVE

-ING AND INFINITIVE

Complete the story with the correct form of the verbs in brackets.

 

MY DAY AS A POLICE WITNESS

It was 2009 and I had witnessed a theft – in fact, I’d tried _______________ (catch) the thief, but when I caught up with him he pulled out a knife, so I stopped _______________ (chase) him and walked away. I remember _______________ (stand) there, thinking how silly the situation was, before I gave up. I like _______________ (be) helpful even when it’s unpleasant or dangerous, so I didn’t mind. Before I walked away though, I remembered _______________ (memorise) his face, in case the police asked me for a description; but I made a mistake, because I forgot _______________ (pay) attention to his height. Well, the police did call me a few days later and said they’d caught the guy and needed me to identify him in a line-up. So I went in, and looked at the eight faces… they asked me which was the thief, but I just went on _______________ (look) at the faces, because they ALL looked like the thief. I tried _______________ (picture) him with my eyes closed, but it didn’t work. In the end, I picked someone – the biggest, tallest one – because that was my recollection, that the guy was big and threatening. The one I picked up turned out to be a police officer himself (who later went on _______________ (become) the chief of police), and the real thief was the shortest guy in the line-up. On my way out, I stopped _______________ (say) goodbye to the head detective, and he just said ‘Don’t call us, we’ll call you.’

Taken from Speak Out Upper-Intermediate © Pearson Education Limited 2011

KEY

MY DAY AS A POLICE WITNESS

It was 2009 and I had witnessed a theft – in fact, I’d tried TO CATCH (catch) the thief, but when I caught up with him he pulled out a knife, so I stopped CHASING (chase) him and walked away. I remember STANDING (stand) there, thinking how silly the situation was, before I gave up. I like TO BE (be) helpful even when it’s unpleasant or dangerous, so I didn’t mind. Before I walked away though, I remembered TO MEMORISE (memorise) his face, in case the police asked me for a description; but I made a mistake, because I forgot TO PAY  (pay) attention to his height. Well, the police did call me a few days later and said they’d caught the guy and needed me to identify him in a line-up. So I went in, and looked at the eight faces… they asked me which was the thief, but I just went on LOOKING (look) at the faces, because they ALL looked like the thief. I tried TO PICTURE (picture) him with my eyes closed, but it didn’t work. In the end, I picked someone – the biggest, tallest one – because that was my recollection, that the guy was big and threatening. The one I picked up turned out to be a police officer himself (who later went on TO BECOME (become) the chief of police), and the real thief was the shortest guy in the line-up. On my way out, I stopped TO SAY (say) goodbye to the head detective, and he just said ‘Don’t call us, we’ll call you.’

Taken from Speak Out Upper-Intermediate © Pearson Education Limited 2011

Leave a Reply

Categories

