Posted by: crisdiaz24 | March 21, 2012

EXPRESSIONS FOLLOWED BY PREPOSITION + -ING

 

VERBS AND ADJECTIVES + PREPOSITIONS

Complete the following sentences with a suitable preposition.

  1. John is accustomed __________ working hard.
  2. As long as you work hard, you will succeed __________ achieving your goals.
  3. Mary has always dreamed __________ getting her own boutique.
  4. She would like to be in charge __________ running her own business.
  5. He needs to concentrate __________ studying Economics.
  6. Some students do not care __________ studying this particular subject.
  7. John and Mary don’t want to argue __________ anyone __________ getting the job done.
  8. We all dream __________ being our own boss.
  9. Mary is looking forward __________ getting an answer to her application letter.
  10. I often worry __________ not passing my exams.
  11. I believe __________ beginning at the bottom and working my way to the top.
  12. Sue is excited __________ starting to study History.
  13. She is extremely interested __________ learning about the past.
  14.  I sometimes feel guilty __________ doing something wrong.
  15. I often apologize __________ saying something politically incorrect.
  16. My parents blame me __________ being too sensitive.
  17. What is the point __________ studying a foreign language if you are never going to use it?
  18. My parents warned me __________ thinking negative thoughts. Think positive!
  19. I may one day be responsible __________ taking care of my parents.
  20. I wouldn’t object __________ helping my sister with her mortgage.
  21. I am tired __________ hearing abuse from my colleagues.
  22. I am not used __________ living on my own.
  23. Children do not often feel guilty __________ being messy and untidy.
  24. I do not believe __________ dieting.
  25. The lecturer did not succeed __________ getting the audience’s attention.
  26. They decided __________ moving to England.
  27. I don’t feel __________ going out tonight.
  28. Mary doesn’t approve __________ smoking.
  29. They do not want to participate __________ doing anything for his birthday.
  30. I am working __________ improving my pronunciation.
  31. We depend __________ doing most of our business at Christmas.
  32. The teacher apologized __________ not correcting the exams in time.
  33. They did not agree _______ increasing taxes.
  34. I don’t agree __________ John __________ anything.
  35. He is scared __________ swimming in the sea.
  36. John is good __________ playing tennis.
  37. Thanks __________ giving me a lift.
  38. I am not interested __________ reading ghost stories.
  39. I am bored __________ doing this job.
  40. She is angry __________ having to work at the weekend.
  41. Mary is sorry __________ getting home late.
  42. There’s no point __________ waiting any longer.
  43. What is the advantage __________ farming __________ hunting.
  44. I insist _________ writing the letter now.
  45. He is always complaining __________ not having enough time.
  46. He was fined __________ driving over the speed limit.

KEY

VERBS AND ADJECTIVES + PREPOSITIONS

Complete the following sentences with a suitable preposition.

  1. John is accustomed TO working hard.
  2. As long as you work hard, you will succeed IN achieving your goals.
  3. Mary has always dreamed OF / ABOUT getting her own boutique.
  4. She would like to be in charge OFrunning her own business.
  5. He needs to concentrate ON studying Economics.
  6. Some students do not care ABOUT studying this particular subject.
  7. John and Mary don’t want to argue WITH anyone ON getting the job done.
  8. We all dream ABOUT / OF being our own boss.
  9. Mary is looking forward TO getting an answer to her application letter.
  10. I often worry ABOUT not passing my exams.
  11. I believe IN beginning at the bottom and working my way to the top.
  12. Sue is excited ABOUT starting to study History.
  13. She is extremely interested IN learning about the past.
  14.  I sometimes feel guilty ABOUT doing something wrong.
  15. I often apologize FOR saying something politically incorrect.
  16. My parents blame me FOR being too sensitive.
  17. What is the point OF studying a foreign language if you are never going to use it?
  18. My parents warned me ABOUT / AGAINST thinking negative thoughts. Think positive!
  19. I may one day be responsible FOR taking care of my parents.
  20. I wouldn’t object TO helping my sister with her mortgage.
  21. I am tired OF hearing abuse from my colleagues.
  22. I am not used TO living on my own.
  23. Children do not often feel guilty ABOUT being messy and untidy.
  24. I do not believe IN dieting.
  25. The lecturer did not succeed IN getting the audience’s attention.
  26. They decided AGAINST moving to England.
  27. I don’t feel LIKE going out tonight.
  28. Mary doesn’t approve OF smoking.
  29. They do not want to participate IN doing anything for his birthday.
  30. I am working ON / AT improving my pronunciation.
  31. We depend ON doing most of our business at Christmas.
  32. The teacher apologized FOR not correcting the exams in time.
  33. They did not agree ON increasing taxes.
  34. I don’t agree WITH John ON anything.
  35. He is scared OF swimming in the sea.
  36. John is good AT playing tennis.
  37. Thanks FOR giving me a lift.
  38. I am not interested IN reading ghost stories.
  39. I am bored WITH doing this job.
  40. She is angry ABOUT having to work at the weekend.
  41. Mary is sorry FOR getting home late.
  42. There’s no point IN waiting any longer.
  43. What is the advantage OF farming OVER hunting.
  44. I insist ON writing the letter now.
  45. He is always complaining ABOUT not having enough time.
  46. He was fined FOR driving over the speed limit.
Leave a Reply

Categories

