Posted by: crisdiaz24 | March 21, 2012

REPHRASING

REPHRASING

Complete the second Sentence so that it has a similar meaning to the first Sentence, using the word given in brackets. DO NOT CHANGE THE WORD GIVEN.

  1. There’s no water left, I’m afraid.

(RUN) I’m afraid                                                                                                       

2. I imagine they regret ever moving into that house.

(WISH) I imagine they wish                                                                                      

3. I didn’t speak to Teri because I didn’t see her.

(HAD) If                                                                                                                     

4. I’ve always had a very good relationship with my mother.

(GOT) I’ve                                                                                                                  

5. You really should start thinking about finding yourself a job.

(TIME) It                                                                                                                    

6. He had no real intention of marrying her.

(REALLY) He didn’t                                                                                                    

7. Obviously it’s a waste of time to try again.

(WORTH) It’s                                                                                                             

8. Is it really worth upgrading to the new smartphone?

(WHETHER) I’d like                                                                                                   

9. Wayne shouldn’t have lost his temper.

(WISHES) Wayne                                                                                                       

10. It’s terrible – we owe so much money!

(ONLY) If                                                                                                                   

11. She can’t stand the way the press keep asking her about her private life.

(STOP) She wishes                                                                                                     

12. This area is forbidden. Get out immediately.

(SUPPOSED) You                                                                                                       

KEY

REPHRASING

Complete the second Sentence so that it has a similar meaning to the first Sentence, using the word given in brackets. DO NOT CHANGE THE WORD GIVEN.

  1. There’s no water left, I’m afraid.

(RUN) I’m afraid WE HAVE RUN OUT OF WATER.

2. I imagine they regret ever moving into that house.

(WISH) I imagine they wish THEY HAD NEVER MOVED INTO THAT HOUSE.

3. I didn’t speak to Teri because I didn’t see her.

(HAD) If I HAD SEEN TERI, I WOULD HAVE SPOKEN TO HER.

4. I’ve always had a very good relationship with my mother.

(GOT) I’ve ALWAYS GOT ON VERY WELL WITH MY MOTHER.

5. You really should start thinking about finding yourself a job.

(TIME) It IS (ABOUT) TIME YOU STARTED THINKING ABOUT FINDING YOURSELF A JOB.

6. He had no real intention of marrying her.

(REALLY) He didn’t REALLY MEAN TO MARRY HER.

7. Obviously it’s a waste of time to try again.

(WORTH) It’s NOT WORTH TRYING AGAIN.

8. Is it really worth upgrading to the new smartphone?

(WHETHER) I’d like TO KNOW WHETHER IT IS REALLY WORTH UPGRADING THE NEW SMARTPHONE.

9. Wayne shouldn’t have lost his temper.

(WISHES) Wayne WISHES HE HADN’T LOST HIS TEMPER.

10. It’s terrible – we owe so much money!

(ONLY) If ONLY WE DIDN’T OWE SO MUCH MONEY!

11. She can’t stand the way the press keep asking her about her private life.

(STOP) She wishes THE PRESS WOULD STOP ASKING HER ABOUT HER PRIVATE LIFE.

12. This area is forbidden. Get out immediately.

(SUPPOSED) You ARE NOT SUPPOSED TO BE HERE / IN THIS AREA / TO WALK IN HERE. GET OUT IMMEDIATELY.


Leave a Reply

Categories

