Posted by: crisdiaz24 | February 17, 2017

I DON’T THINK / SUPPOSE / EXPECT

I DON’T THINK / SUPPOSE / EXPECT

 

In English we usually say I don’t think + affirmative verb rather than I think + negative verb. Other verbs like this are believe, suppose, and expect.

  • I don’t think I know you.
  • I don’t expect we’ll meet again.

We can also use the verbs seem, expect, and want in the negative followed by an infinitive.

  • She doesn’t seem to be very happy.
  • I don’t expect to get the job.

 

Rewrite the following sentences, using the verb in brackets.

 

Example:

You haven’t met my wife. (Think)

I don’t think you have met my wife.

 

  1. You haven’t got change for a fiver. (suppose)
  2. This machine isn’t working. (seem)
  3. It wasn’t going to rain. (think)
  4. Their daughter won’t marry a footballer. (want)
  5. I wasn’t going to see you at the party. (expect)
  6. You haven’t met Robert recently. (suppose)
  7. I wouldn’t like snails. (think)
  8. You don’t remember me. (expect)
  9. She doesn’t like her job. (seem)
  10. She didn’t get grade A in all her exams. (Believe)

Taken from: New Headway Upper-Intermediate (Workbook), ©Liz and John Soars, Oxford University Press

 

KEY

 

  1. I don’t suppose you have change for a fiver.
  2. This machine doesn’t seem to be working.
  3. I didn’t think it was going to rain.
  4. Their daughter doesn’t want to marry a footballer.
  5. I didn’t expect to see you at the party.
  6. I don’t suppose you have met Robert recently.
  7. I didn’t think I would like snails.
  8. I didn’t expect you would remember me.
  9. She doesn’t seem to like her job.
  10. I don’t believe she got grade A in all her exams.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

