Posted by: crisdiaz24 | March 23, 2017

WHAT IT’S REALLY LIKE TO FLY OVERSEAS IN FIRST CLASS – Cloze Test

first-class travel

 

CLOZE TEST

Fill in the gaps with ONE suitable word from the list below. There are SEVEN extra words you do not need to use.

 

WHAT IT’S REALLY LIKE TO FLY OVERSEAS IN FIRST CLASS

I’m not going to make you wait until the end of my column to tell you that it is
0) __________!

As a travel writer, I don’t fly first class, or even business for that 1) __________. I pay for my fares anywhere. I pay for hotels, food, anything a tourist would pay for.

I was flying from Miami to Paris on American Airlines last week, with a planned 2) __________ in Charlotte (NC). I was waiting at the departure lounge in Charlotte when a call came from the door agent asking for volunteers to fly the next day instead, as the flight was overbooked, as it often is, and the airline was 3) __________ of seven seats.

I felt my feet moving in the direction of the counter, almost as if they had a life of their 4) __________. The promise of a voucher for $725 to exchange for a future flight, an upgrade to first class for the same flight the next day, a night in a hotel airport with vouchers 5) __________ for drinks (they want to make you forget), food, snacks, a shuttle to take you there. It all felt like a happy hour offer.

There was very little hesitation (ok, none) on my part to take the deal – after all, what would a day late in Paris do to me? Absolutely nothing! I just had to tell friends and family that I did not 6) __________ it into that flight, and they would have to wait one more day for my presence to be … present. Big deal, 7) __________ anyone knows where I am on any given day anyway.

Lucky me, I only had a carry-on spinner suitcase, one of those that fit in the 8) __________ bin. That was one of the conditions to get the offer: no checked-in luggage. I understand that, it’s a pain for the airlines to have to deal with 9) __________ pieces arriving before or after you.

After one of my bags once went to India and Canada, when it was only 10) __________ to go from New York to London, I never again checked in any suitcase. I always travel light; I have clothes in several countries, really.

Back at the airport (again with the usual free shuttle) on time for the 6 p.m. flight, I aimed straight to the kiosk where a boarding pass gets processed. With my first class paper in hand, I proudly walked through the FIRST CLASS security line – no waiting. I felt like a princess from a foreign land!

Whoa! A good start. At the airport, American Airlines has a very 11) __________ lounge for its upper class passengers. Food, drinks, food, drinks, repeat. Why do they feed the lucky ones so much, those are the ones who can afford food, right? Anyway, the armchairs were ultra comfy, the ambiance was velvety, nothing to 12) __________ with a normal airport departure space. The coffee excellent. This proves that when money is not an issue, even airports can have good coffee.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/sidonie-sawyer/what-its-really-like-to-f_b_8274396.html

ABOVE                 DO                      MATTER          SHORT

ABUNDANT         EXCITED          OVERHEAD     STOPOVER

AWESOME           GALORE           OWN                STRANDED

BARELY                LACKING         PLUSH              SUPPOSED

BARREN                MAKE               SCALES             WRECKED

 

0. AWESOME

 

KEY

 

  1. MATTER
  2. STOPOVER
  3. SHORT
  4. OWN
  5. GALORE
  6. MAKE
  7. BARELY
  8. OVERHEAD
  9. STRANDED
  10. SUPPOSED
  11. PLUSH
  12. DO
Responses

  1. SOLUTIONS OR LINK TO ISAMBARD KINGDOM BRUNNEL PLEASE

    Like

    • Done!

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

