Posted by: crisdiaz24 | May 21, 2017

REPHRASING

REPHRASING

 

  1. He never achieved his goal though it was his aim for years.

(spite)

                                                                                                                                        

  1. He was too young to join the club.

(enough)

                                                                                                                                        

  1. I’m sure they came last night.

(Must)

                                                                                                                                        

  1. It was impossible not to laugh at his faux pas.

(help)

                                                                                                                                        

  1. We can’t wait to move into our new house.

(looking)

                                                                                                                         

  1. We don’t normally travel to London by train.

(used)

                                                                                                                                        

  1. I’m sure it came as a shock to him.

(must)

                                                                                                                                        

  1. The last time I saw Audrey was when I was in Italy.

(since)

                                                                                                                                        

  1. Don’t cheat in the exams or they punish you.

You                                                                                                                                 

  1. I was never allowed to drink soft drinks when I was young.

(let)

                                                                                                                       

  1. Although it was very cold, we went out.

Despite                                                                                                                          

  1. I am so sorry I didn’t arrive in time.

If only                                                                                                                            

  1. I’m not sure whether I posted the letter or not.

(remember)

                                                                                                                                        

  1. I regret not listening to my parents.

I wish                                                                                                                             

  1. My mother told me to take off my mini-skirt and put on something decent.

(made)

                                                                                                                                        

  1. Provided you come, everybody will be happy.

(long)

                                                                                                                                        

  1. “I won’t listen to him”, he said.

He refused                                                                                                                       

  1. They will promote somebody from the 9th

Somebody                                                                                                                    

  1. My parents let me do what I wanted.

(allowed)

                                                                                                                                        

  1. We haven’t talked to each other for a long time.

(stopped)

                                                                                                                                        

  1. “I wouldn’t do it if I were you”, he said.

He discouraged                                                                                                           

KEY

1.He never achieved his goal in spite of being / having been his aim for years.

2. He was not old enough to join the club.

3. They must have come last night.

4. I couldn’t help laughing at his faux pas.

5. We are looking forward to moving into our new house.

6. We are not used to travelling to London by train.

7. It must have come as a shock to him.

8. I haven’t seen Audrey since I was in Italy.

9. You mustn’t cheat in the exam or they’ll punish you. / You will be punished if you cheat in the exam.

10. They didn’t let me drink soft drinks when I was a child.

11. Despite the cold / the cold weather / the fact that it was cold, we went out.

12. If only I had arrived on time.

13. I don’t remember posting the letter.

14. I wish I had listened to my parents.

15. My mother made me take off my mini-skirt and put on something decent.

16. As long as you come, everybody will be happy.

17. He refused to listen to him.

18. Somebody from the 9th floor will be promoted.

19. I was allowed to do what I wanted. / My parents allowed me to do what I wanted.

20. We stopped talking to each other a long time ago.

21. He discouraged me from doing it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

