Posted by: crisdiaz24 | November 15, 2016

Recommendations and Suggestions – Rephrasing exercise

RECOMMENDATIONS AND SUGGESTIONS

REPHRASING

  1. He said, “Let’s read the instructions first.”

He suggested…

  1. She said, “Why don’t you apply for a job permit, Tom?”

She suggested…

  1. I told them, “You should move house.”

I recommended…

  1. “Don’t leave school now. You’ll regret it.”

I suggested…

  1. “Why don’t you buy a new computer? Yours is really old.”

I recommended…

  1. “You should try and get a new job.”

He suggested…

  1. Can you tell us about a good restaurant near here?

Can you suggest…

  1. “You should start studying a foreign language if you want a better job.”

He recommended…

  1. “Why don’t you start studying a new language?”

He recommended…

  1. “Why don’t we go out for a meal?

He suggested…

KEY

  1. He suggested reading the instructions first.
  2. She suggested (that) Tom (should) apply for a job permit.
  3. I recommended moving house / I recommended (that) they (should) move house.
  4. I suggested (that) he / she should not leave school now / then, because they would regret it. / I suggested not leaving school  now…
  5. I recommended buying a new computer, as his was very old.
  6. He suggested trying and getting a new job.
  7. Can you suggest (the name of) a good restaurant near here?
  8. He recommened that I should start studying a foreign language if I wanted a better job. / He recommended studying a new….
  9. He recommended studying a new language.
  10. He suggested going out for a meal.
Leave a Reply

Categories

