Posted by: a2cristina | April 14, 2016

Conditional sentences – Inversion

CONDITIONAL SENTENCES – INVERSION

 

– FIRST CONDITIONAL:

If you (should) need more information, call us any time.

SHOULD you need more information, call us any time.

– SECOND CONDITIONAL

  • If the negotiations were to collapse, the EU would face serious problems.

                  WERE the negotiations to collapse, the EU would face serious problems.

  • If it were not for my boss, I would be at home right now.

                 WERE it not FOR my boss, I would be at home right now.

– THIRD CONDITIONAL:

If I had known about their future policies beforehand, I wouldn’t have voted for them.

Had I known about their future policies beforehand, I wouldn’t have voted for them.

– MIXED CONDITIONAL:

If it were not for Paul, I would not have got over my depression.

WERE it not for Paul, I would not have got over my depression.

 

SPEAKING

Complete the following sentences:

  1. Should you need to change pounds into Euros,
  2. Were I to fail the exam,
  3. Were I to pass the exam,
  4. Had a car bomb exploded in the city centre,
  5. Had the two terrorists not been arrested in Belgium,
  6. Were it not for the Panama leaks,
  7. Were we to sit the exam tomorrow,
  8. Were it not for the Telediario,
  9. Should you require information about this year’s oposiciones,
  10. Had it not been for the war in Syria,
  11. Had the Syrian refugees known what was waiting for them in Macedonia,
  12. Had Spain’s handball team not been defeated last week,

 


Leave a comment

Categories